Guinness World Record Attempt

So I think that it’s about time that I tell everyone something.. It is something that I have been keeping rather quiet and for good reason.. Because when I ‘signed’ up for this challenge I wasn’t even sure whether I would be able to succeed or not.. But here it is:

Me, along with 99 other people (plus a few extra) have taken on a challenge to get into the Guinness World Book of Records..

For what you may ask? Well for the most people taking part in an anthology!

What is an anthology? “In book publishing, an anthology is a collection of literary works chosen by the compiler. It may be a collection of poems, short stories, plays, songs or excerpts.”*

How do we plan on doing this? The current record stands at 50 people submitting their own short stories. We have doubled that number! Now what is left, is for the anthology to get published and a 1000 paperback copies need to be sold..

Does this seem impossible? Perhaps but we are already part way there! Having a 100+ people writing their own short stories is a step in the right direction..

Now comes the part where the book needs to be put together in proper format and then be sent off to the printers.. If everything goes according to plan it will be finished by the end of September so that we can start selling the books..

This might seem like something that really is impossible but it so far it is an awesome experience.. Seeing people from all over the world coming together to try and attempt this is huge.. If it was truly impossible those people would not have submitted their stories at all.. They would not have worked hard at writing their stories if they weren’t genuinely amped to make this work..

Here is my part of the experience so far: When I first signed up for it I was excited and couldn’t wait to start writing my story.. But as the weeks passed I started doubting myself and my ability to write a satisfactory short story.. Sure I started 4 different stories but each one was deleted the second time I sat down and wanted to continue writing.. Why? Because none of them felt good enough.. As though I was just writing for the sake of writing.. I love writing and everything I have written so far has been a huge achievement and I have been proud of every single word.. Yes, I have rewritten a lot of my original stories but the basis has always stayed.. And truth be told they will be rewritten and edited quite a few times before I am completely happy with them.. But I wrote those stories.. Not because I was bored.. Not because I wanted attention.. But because I absolutely love writing! Being able to just let go of everything while I am concentrating on the story is almost as good as a spa day..

I have learned this month that not all stories are good.. Some stories need to be put on the back burner to stew a little longer and then at a later stage be looked at again.. Other stories might not ever see the light of day but that isn’t a bad thing.. The characters might make a comeback and make you feel good about the story that was never written..

Some of my favourite quotes about writing is the following –

“Why am I compelled to write? . . . Because the world I create in the writing compensates for what the real world does not give me. By writing I put order in the world, give it a handle so I can grasp it. I write because life does not appease my appetites and anger . . . To become more intimate with myself and you. To discover myself, to preserve myself, to make myself, to achieve self-autonomy. To dispell the myths that I am a mad prophet or a poor suffering soul. To convince myself that I am worthy and that what I have to say is not a pile of shit . . . Finally I write because I’m scared of writing, but I’m more scared of not writing.” – Gloria E. Anzaldúa

“Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.” – Gloria Steinem

“It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all – in which case, you fail by default.” ― J.K. Rowling

If you are interested in purchasing one of the anthology books please follow this link: Pre-order

IMG-20170908-WA0000

Leave a Reply

